A loo with a view ...

August 27, 2017

Some of my more ... delicate friends have told me they couldn't stand staying at a place like Baptiste, because there's no indoor plumbing. That's a rather sad statement, I think, and one that deserves a rebuttal.

The Baptiste outhouse is a couple hundred yards from the lookout, down a little trail that meanders through a meadow and ends at the lip of the ridge. Really, it's a surprisingly nice place:


The outhouse is immaculate, but the place has another attribute that makes it a real joy to visit. You leave the door open when you use it, of course, since there are no other humans around for miles ... and instead of sitting there hunched over a magazine or an iPhone, you gaze out past the door and get to look at this view:


Really, no flush toilet could ever compete with that, no matter how shiny the porcelain. :)

One more shot of my outhouse view. The photo above was from yesterday evening, and this one is from the morning:


Nearly all the fire lookouts I've been to have spectacularly-sited outhouses ... I love how the people who designed these places clearly had an eye for beauty.