Smokey sunset ...

August 13, 2017

Well, I'm back in Bozeman for a couple weeks ... got home late Monday night (the 7th). I hear there were a bunch of new lightning strikes east of Cyclone Lookout that night, but I wasn't there to see them. :/

And there was yet another lightning storm near Glacier Park yesterday, and it ignited another forest fire -- this one just above Cyclone Lake, and less than two miles from the lookout. As of last night, it was spreading fairly rapidly, and there were three helicopters dropping water on the blaze. I'm a bit worried for my poor old lookout, and also a little jealous that I'm not there to see the spectacle. (The person staffing the lookout now is only two days into her first volunteer lookout hitch ever ... what a way to start.)

But ... I guess it's not my concern while I'm sitting here in town.  I'll be heading back to the Flathead in a couple weeks, though, returning to my beloved old home at Baptiste Lookout.  I can't wait.

In the meantime, here's another photo from last week -- a smokey sunset from Cyclone Lookout. Looking at this, you'll think that I must have cranked up the saturation when I post-processed the photo, but I didn't.