Houseguests, and watching the moon ...

August 6, 2017

So my sister and her dogs hiked up to Cyclone Lookout yesterday afternoon, to visit me for the weekend. Charlie was thrilled to see them all, of course, and it's nice having a little more activity up here for a day, especially the hyper-happy dogs.


Both my sister's dogs were initially a little hesitant about the idea of living atop a 41-foot-tall tower, and one of them still is ... but they've also realized that it's a perfect vantage point for squirrel reconnaissance.


Charlie's just happy being part of a pack for a couple days, even though the dog in the background stole his spot in my bed last night:


Anyhow, they'll be heading down later this morning. And sadly, I'm heading back to the city tomorrow, myself.

----------

Probably like a lot of you, once in a while I have to take a photo that I know won't really turn out, but that will just remind me of something really, really cool. That's what this last photo is.

Cyclone Lake is just a little south of the lookout I'm at, and about a thousand feet down, and almost no one ever sees it unless they take the time to hike up to the tower. It's really a lovely little spot, and I've really enjoyed watching the lake at different times of day.

Anyhow, my sister and I were playing cards last night about 10:30 or so, and I looked down at Cyclone Lake and saw a sliver of moonlight reflecting over a corner of the lake, and it was one of the most beautiful things I'd seen in a very long time. So of course I tried to take a photo, and of course it didn't even come close to capturing how wonderful the view was ... but here it is anyway, to help me remember the moment.