One more day ...

September 16, 2017

It was another cold night here at Baptiste, but in the early-morning hours the wind finally died down and the clouds started to break up, and when I finally crawled out of bed to start the coffee this is how my world looked.


After all the days I've spent gazing at the view from this mountain I think I'm getting a little jaded ... but the way the valley looked this morning really made me happy.

Anyhow, it was a fairly quiet day up here, mostly planning what I need to do to close up the lookout, and starting to pull the things together that I need to pack down tomorrow. Towards the end of the morning, I was more than a little surprised to see some hikers coming up my trail ... three very-fit guys and a big dog named Numa. They were on their way to climb Mount Baptiste, which seemed rather daring to me considering the new snow. I was pretty impressed when I scanned the mountain with my binoculars just two hours later, and saw at least two of them (and the dog) standing on the summit.

Cleaned out the refrigerator for dinner, scrambling eggs and cheese in a frying pan, with some tuna thrown in for good measure. Then as it got dark, Charlie and I roamed across our ridgetop one last time, and I took some grainy photos with my phone. It wasn't the most amazing sunset I've ever seen up here, but it was still a good one.


Goodnight, Baptiste.