A loo with a view, part two ...

September 15, 2017

Some of you enjoyed seeing the view from my outhouse door a couple weeks ago, so I thought I'd show you how that same view looked this morning. I's not for the faint of heart:


I have to confess, this morning I really wished my outhouse had a heated toilet seat. ;-)

Here's the path down to the outhouse. Charlie hasn't been able to play in new snow for months, so he thinks all of this is very cool.


I agree that it's pretty cool ... in a way, at least. The temperature stayed near freezing here all day, with a cold wind that gusted up to 30 or so, and light snow falling and blowing around. The lookout of course is completely uninsulated, and the cold air and the snow blows in through the cracks, and even though I fed the wood stove all day the best I could do was get the interior temperature into the 50s. So in between my regular trips down to the woodpile, I mostly just curled up by the stove with my laptop or some Sudokus.

But still ... it's an experience, and a gorgeous one.